Ontario Wins 2010 Titleist Cup


Team Ontario Wins Back to Back Titleist Cup
- First time in 25 Years-

(Quebec City, QC., - October 8, 2010) – Team Ontario has successfully defended their title to win the 2010 Titleist Cup at Royal Quebec Golf Club. Lead by Captain Gar Hamilton, the Ontario team came roaring out the gates to take an early 4 point lead after the morning fourball matches.

“I was really proud of our guys this morning, they played extremely well,” said an exuberant Hamilton.
Ontario maintained their lead after the foursome matches winning three of a possible six matches.  Lead by Titleist Cup stalwart Ken Tarling and Quebec native Dave Levesque, Ontario was able to maintain the momentum from the morning 9 hole fourball matches.

“Kenny played well for us and I think a lot of the guys feed off watching Ken and his tenacious attitude at the matches,” explained Hamilton. “Dave was like a secret weapon for us, he worked at Royal Quebec for six years and was able to impart a lot of course knowledge on to our team,” added Hamilton.

Tarling and Quebec native Dave Levesque had perfect records on the day, which saw a slight modification the typical Titleist Cup Matches. Due to inclement weather on Thursday which saw Royal Quebec become unplayable, the matches were converted to 9 holes of fourball, 9 holes of foursomes and 9 holes of singles matches.

Team Ontario has not won back to back titles since 1986 which was also the last time Ontario won on Quebec soil. The 2010 matches will return to Ontario in 2011 with a site to be officially named in the coming weeks.

Fourball Matches

John Rushnell / Rick Willan vs. Hocan Olsson / Don Hachey - AS
Dave Levesque / Keir Smith 4 & 2 Winners over Greg Cutthil / Billy Houle
Danny King / Brian French 4 & 2 Winners over Yvan Beauchemin / Eric Landerville
Phillip Mongeau / Eric Laporte 1up Winners over Dan Greenwood / Reggie Millage
Ken Tarling / Ian Doig 1 up Winners over Ben Boudreau / Jean Laforce
Bruce Rogerson / David Miller 3 & 2 Winners over Jean Louis Lamarre / Daniel Santarre

After the morning 9 hole fourball matches Team Ontario leads 4.5 to 1.5

Foursome Matches

Hocan Olsson / Don Hachey 2 & 1 Winners over John Rushnell / Rick Willan
Dave Levesque / Keir Smith 3 & 2 Winners over Greg Cutthil / Billy Houle
Yvan Beauchemin / Eric Landerville 3 & 2 Winners over Danny King / Brian French
Dan Greenwood / Reg Millage 3 & 1 Winners over Eric Laporte / Phillip Mongeau
Ken Tarling / Ian Doig 3 & 2 Winners over Ben Boudreau / Jean Laforce
Jean Louis Lamarre / Daniel Santarre Won 1up over Bruce Rogerson / David Miller

After the afternoon 9 hole foursome matches Team Ontario lead 7.5 to 4.5

Singles Matches

    Quebec        Ontario

1   Olsson           Rushnell - Olsson wins 2up
2   Hachey          Willan - Hachey wins 4 & 2
3   Houle             Levesque - Levesque wins 4 & 2
4   Cuthill            Smith - Cuthill wins 4 & 2
5   Lamarre         French - French wins 1up
6   Landerville      King - King & Landreville halve match
7   Santarre         Greenwood - Santerre wins 1up
8   Mongeau        Rogerson - Rogerson wins 2up
9   Laforce           Millage - Millage wins 1up
10 Laporte           Miller - Miller wins 3up
11 Boudreau        Tarling - Tarling wins 2 & 1
12 Beauchemin    Doig - Beauchemin wins 2 & 1

Final result
14 points Ontario
10 points Quebec

Bookmark and Share