Ontario PGA Announces 2009 Titleist Cup Team


Ontario PGA Announces 2009 Titleist Cup Team
- Looking to Snap 15 Year Winless Drought
(Pickering, Ont., September 22, 2009) - The 2009 Ontario PGA Titleist Cup team has been selected and is set to do battle once again with the top professionals from Quebec next month (October 7-9) at Mississaugua Golf & Country Club. The team, which will be led by long time Titleist Cup team member and Mississaugua Head Professional Gar Hamilton, is one of the best teams on paper in recent memory.

"This team has it all, power, finesse, composure and most importantly the will to win," said Titleist Cup Captain Gar Hamilton. "Each member of our team is a proven winner and I know that will help us in the thick of the competition come October 8th."

Members of the team who made it based on points from the Hunt Trophy are Ian Doig, Danny King, Bruce Rogerson, Dan Clark, Gary Jeffrey and Reggie Millage (Top Class 'A' Other).  Players who clinched births on the team via a victory include Ken Tarling (Seniors' Champion), Dave Levesque (Assistants' Champion) and Mark Kappes (Class 'A' Champion). John Rushnell clinched a spot on the team for his play on the Ontario PGA Senior tour and  currently sits in second spot on the Senior Hunt Trophy list.

Rounding out the team will be Captain's picks Dan Greenwood (Heron Point) and Billy Walsh (Beacon Hall). Greenwood is a Titleist Cup veteran having competed for the last two years while Billy Walsh will be a Titleist Cup rookie.

"Both Dan and Billy will be tremendous assets to our team," said Hamilton. "Dan is an excellent Head Professional and adds a great deal of character to our team while Billy is a fiery competitor and will lead by example," added Hamilton, who will captain his first Titleist Cup Team.

The 2009 Titleist Cup Matches begin on Wednesday October 7th with practice rounds for both teams. The official competition begins Thursday morning with four ball matches followed by afternoon foursome matches.  The tournament concludes with Friday singles matches.

The Titleist Cup or Ontario/Quebec Matches have been played consecutively since 1977. Prior to 1977 the matches were played intermittently from 1961 until the mid 1970's. In total the Quebec PGA has won the matches 21 times while the Ontario PGA has won it ten times. Teams are comprised of the top 12 Ontario and Quebec Canadian PGA Professionals. The Titleist Cup has been played at some of the most historic courses both in Ontario in Quebec. Last year's tournament was played at Mount Bruno and next year the event moves to Royal Quebec in Quebec City.
Click here to visit the Titleist Cup homepage

About the Ontario PGA
Established in 1927, the Ontario Professional Golfers' Association is a non-profit association comprised of approximately 1,300 golf professionals from Belleville to Windsor with a mandate to promote and advance the game of golf, serving the needs of both its membership and the golf public through professional and junior golf development programs and high-calibre competitive events. For more information, visit www.ontariopga.com.
For more Information, contact:

Scott Pritchard
Associate Director
Ontario PGA
Bookmark and Share